Being a Tourist In and Around Copenhagen

“This above all: to thine own self be true, 
And it must follow, as the night the day, 
Thou canst not then be false to any man.” 

― William Shakespeare, Hamlet

Out and About in Denmark!

Hello everyone! As I mentioned in my blog post on Wednesday, this past weekend was to be filled with activities and tours based in and around Copenhagen. The weather in Copenhagen was superb, and this definitely contributed to the fantastic time I had while being a tourist in my city. I’ll break down my itinerary for you in each section of this blog post, and of course, be sure to view my latest photo additions to “Denmark Photos” which is located directly under my “European Cities” photo column to the right.

Links to the websites for the locations I visited are hyperlinked (attached) to the titles in each section of this post. Check them out for more details on the places I visited!

Tivoli

Friday evening I visited Tivoli Gardens, an amusement park situated in the heart of Copenhagen. Yes, this may seem strange that an amusement park exists within the downtown hub of a major city. However, Tivoli was vastly different from any amusement park I’ve been to before.

Tivoli Gardens changes themes seasonally, and the month of February is “Winter in Tivoli.” All of the food and games featured winter-themed snacks and prizes, and even an ice skating rink! My favorite attraction was a swing that extended far above the park, and from the top, I could see the entire skyline of Copenhagen as the sun was setting. I wish I could have taken a photo of that moment, but I am so grateful to have enjoyed the experience nonetheless! I am looking forward to returning to Tivoli in the spring when the theme changes again!

Kronborg Castle

The opening quote from William Shakespeare’s Hamlet is fitting considering that the highlight of my weekend was touring Kronborg Castle on Saturday. The castle was the setting for Shakespeare’s play featuring the character Hamlet, Prince of Denmark. Historically speaking, Kronborg was originally constructed as a fortress until King Frederick II remodeled it into a magnificent Renaissance castle in the late 16th century.

I toured the castle and its grounds with my friend Katelyn. Kronborg is located in the town of Helsingør, a 45-minute train ride from Copenhagen. What I found to be particularly interesting about the castle, aside from its elegant interior and grandeur, is that the play Hamlet has been performed at the castle before! The first time this occurred was to commemorate the 200th anniversary of Shakespeare’s death, and since then, the famous play has been performed at Kronborg numerous times by actors from various generations.

Louisiana Museum of Modern Art

The Louisiana Museum of Modern Art is only 15 minutes from Kronborg Castle, and pairing the two together on our Saturday itinerary was a smart move!  The museum is set on a hill overlooking the Øresund Sound and features pieces from Pablo Picasso and Andy Warhol, as well as a sprawling sculpture garden.

I am not particularly knowledgeable about modern art, and I severely lack any drawing or sculpting skills of my own. Regardless, I still enjoyed seeing all of the beautiful (and sometimes confusing) pieces in the museum, and the spectacular view that the museum offered of the Øresund. I could even see the coast of Sweden from the top of the hill!

Where am I Headed Next?

On Saturday, I will begin a week-long study tour with my core course to Warsaw, Poland and Berlin, Germany. We will be visiting museums, monuments, and concentration camps within and around these cities. I will be sure to report on this study tour once I return! In the meantime, I have a full week of classes ahead of me, and thank you for following along in this exciting chapter of my life!

Much love,

Finola 🙂

One thought on “Being a Tourist In and Around Copenhagen

Leave a comment